Jonas Wood (Phaidon Contemporary Artists Series) (Paperback)

Jonas Wood (Phaidon Contemporary Artists Series) By Mark Grotjahn, Helen Molesworth, Ian Alteveer Cover Image
Email or call for price.


The first monograph on a rising star who is one of contemporary art's most celebrated painters

Los Angeles-based artist Jonas Wood creates vivid images, where space and everyday life are rendered with compressed perspective in bold graphic hues. This monograph - the first on the artist's work - brings together his most significant paintings and drawings. In doing so, it offers a unique insight into the vast array of his sources, which include family photographs, found imagery, baseball cards, and other people's art, including the ceramics of his wife, the artist Shio Kusaka. With contributions by curator and writer Helen Molesworth, Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York Ian Alteveer, and a conversation between Wood and fellow Los Angeles-based artist Mark Grotjahn.

About the Author

Mark Grotjahn is an artist based in Pasadena, California.

Helen Molesworth is a curator and writer. Most recently, she was the chief curator at The Museum of Contemporary Art (MoCA), Los Angeles.

Ian Alteveer is associate curator in The Metropolitan Department of Modern and Contemporary Art in New York.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780714876085
ISBN-10: 0714876089
Publisher: Phaidon Press
Publication Date: December 11th, 2019
Pages: 160
Language: English
Series: Phaidon Contemporary Artists Series